Sunnyvale Heritage Park Museum in Sunnyvale, CA is a historical park that is opened to public on Saturday and Sunday 10 AM – 5 PM.
The park includes several historic buildings along with some costumed people portraying Sunnyvale history. Visitors can check out the exhibits at the museum, schedule of events for weddings, school tours, corporate shindigs.
Visitor can also walk through 40-acre Heritage Park which has historical buildings dotting it’s landscape including Triton Log Cabin which was built in 1883 by John L. Triton who is Sunnyvale’s first postmaster. The cabin is now used as visitor center and offices for local docents who are responsible for taking care of the historic buildings in Heritage Park Museum.
Another building is Meridian Hall, house of rancher Henry Cowell who is credited with naming the city “Sunnyvale” in 1885 when he started a general store there. A replica of his general store and post office is also in Heritage Park Museum which was built using tools and materials available at that time.
Other buildings include Joseph Cather News Stand (a 1914 brick building which housed Sunnyvale’s first newspaper), Lemmon Valle Hall (which has been the home of various churches over the years) and Rosemary Lodge (built in 1860 as a private residence). Visitors can also roam through Victorian-style Leland Hotel which has been restored to its 1900s look.